Hub Planner
Try for free

Hub Planner Roles & Permissions Help Centre & FAQ’s

Estimated reading time: 15 min

What are Hub Planner Roles and Permissions?

Hub Planner Roles & Permissions allows users to set up Resources under different categories that help to distinguish levels of resources. For example team members will have less access and permissions to Hub Planner than management might have.

What are the different Resource Roles of Hub Planner?

There are 6 Roles of Hub Planner.

  • Role Owner
  • Admin
  • Account Handler 1
  • Account Handler 2
  • Team
  • Contractor

How do I know which role level I have?

Click the top right person icon to view your Name, email and role type.

Where can I find the Roles settings?

  1. Settings
  2. System Settings
  3. Roles

Why can’t I see the Roles in Settings?

This would mean that you don’t have permission to access Roles. To change your level of permission. Contact your Account Owner of Hub Planner.

Who has access to view/manage Roles?

Defaulted to the Account Owner. However, you can set the ability to apply this role right to any role level.

User-Access-Permissions-Role-Rights-FAQ

Role Settings

The Roles and Permissions are separated into different sections to help manage the roles and permissions of resources. The layout is a smart and simple tab format. This allows the Account Owner or Admin resource to manage the varying role access.

Extensions are divided into separate sections. Note, you have to have the extension installed in order to view and manage.

  • Scheduler
  • Reports
  • Extensions
  • Notes
  • Project Milestones
  • Clients
  • Project Phases
  • Project Start/End Dates
  • Budget & Billing Rates
  • Edit Project & Event Rights
  • Edit Resource Rights
  • Settings
  • Vacations
  • Resource Request
  • Unassigned Work
  • Tasks
  • Timesheets
  • Project Manager

What about Project Manager

The Project Manager is a separate section. Sometimes users might call this the 7th role. As it acts independent of the role level of the resource. For example, the Project Manager could be at a Team role level. However, PM’s can schedule and manage resources on projects that they manage.

Project Manger role rights are indicated by the PM icon as shown below.

User-Access-Permissions-Role-Rights-FAQ-Project-Manger

Understanding the Role Levels

When setting a role level to a resource, each role has a base level default set of access permissions the user has to Hub Planner. Upon set up, Hub Planner will have a default setting. Feel free to alter accordingly. Refer to the following chart to review the different permissions that accompany each role level:

Understanding the Permissions Levels

In Hub Planner, the Permissions section is where we can customize on a role or resource level the user permissions they have access to. Set which project timelines they can view. Which resource schedules they can manage. Each resource and each role will be defaulted to a base level of Permissions. As an Account Owner, or Admin level (depending on access granted in Roles), Hub Planner helps to customize what level of user access an individual team, resource or role has.

Permissions allows you set access to:

  • Individual Projects
  • Project Groups
  • Individual Resources
  • Resource Groups
  • Unassigned Work Categories
  • Events

This is why Hub Planner Roles and Permissions interlink with each other. So based on the role settings assigned, will determine what ability they have to resources and projects they have permission to.

Hub-Planner-Roles-Permissions

Changing the Rights for a Role

You can change the rights assigned to a role at any time. Upon setup. Each role has a default set of role rights. For example, an Admin has full scheduling rights. Whilst a Team member will not have this access role right. With Hub Planner Roles and Permissions cross functioning, we can set a Team member to have full scheduling rights (like an Admin) to a Resource Group or Project Group we set they have permission to access. But only that team or project. Not any other teams or projects. So that allow us to keep the role rights at Team level for everything else except the Resource Group we have provided permission to access.

To change the permissions for an existing role:

  1. Sign in to Hub Planner as the account owner or someone that has access to edit roles.
  2. Settings
  3. System Settings
  4. Roles
  5. Adjust accordingly

Hub-Planner-Roles

Role Rights v User Access Permission

So rights and user access permissions are a little different in Hub Planner. Rights are what they have a function to do. Like Scheduling Rights. Where user access permissions is what teams and projects you have access to apply the role rights you have been set.

Changing the Permissions for a Role

Within Permissions, we can change the user access at a role or by individual resource. Each role and resource will have a base level of permissions by default. When we alter these permissions, they will change to ‘custom’. This way it’s easy to identify the difference of what they have access to.

To alter the user access of role level permissions:

  1. Settings
  2. System Settings
  3. Permissions
  4. Roles
  5. Select Role
  6. Click Settings cog of Role
  7. This will open the ‘Permissions Modal’.
  8. There are 4 tabs to choose from: Projects, Events, Resources & Unassigned Work
  9. Follow each tab and select or unselect which projects, project groups, resources and resource groups, etc. you set the role level access for.

Hub-Planner-Roles-Permissions

Permissions Overview

Permissions are split into two sections.

  • Roles
  • Resources

Hub-Planner-Roles-Permissions

Permissions by Role

Each role has a defaulted level of permissions granted within Hub Planner. Meaning that based on the role level the user is assigned, will determine the access level to Hub Planner projects, events, resources (groups) and unassigned work categories if this is installed. Permissions allows you to customize or adjust that setting or a role level the user will have access to.

Some examples of how to use Permissions by Role?

  • For example, you may grant all team role users the ability to view an event called ‘Team Meeting’.
  • Remove ‘Management’ Unassigned Work category from the sight of Team and Contractor role schedules.

Permissions by Resource

Similar to Roles, each resource has a defaulted level of user access permissions based on their role level. Permissions by resources allows you to individually adjust their access.

Adjusting permissions by an individual resource, allows you to grant or restrict access permissions to a Project, Project Group, Event, Resource or Resource Group or indeed some Unassigned Work categories (if subscribed) to that single resource only.

Hub-Planner-Roles-Permissions

Some examples of how to use Permissions by Resource?

  • Provide a Scrum Master with user access to the London Design Team and London Design Projects groups.
  • Add unassigned work category ‘Design Work’ to the Scrum Master’s selected permissions. So they can see that category on their schedule.

Base Permissions

What are base permissions? Base Permissions are the default set permissions granted to the role level or the resource. Once a permission is customized, adjusted it will no longer be deemed a base level permission, it will now say ‘Custom’ permission.

How do I locate what the Base Permissions are?

You can also verify the access of the role level by navigating to the Roles section of System Settings. Note, in Hub Planner you will need the required permission level to access Roles.

Hub-Planner-Roles-Permissions-Base